Traveling to Tibet Via Nepal 

Nepal is a common starting point for travelers planning to visit Tibet. However, travelers entering Tibet from Nepal must obtain the Tibet Group Visa (TGV) from the Chinese Embassy in Kathmandu.

Business Hours: Monday-Friday. Closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and Public Holidays.

Submission of applications: Monday-Friday 9:00 to 10:00.

Collection: Monday-Friday 12:00 to 15:00.

Tibet Group Visa Type: Single Entry.  

Payment mode – Payable in Nepali Currency (cash) and subject to change.

As of 2024

TGV Requirements:

  • 2 copies of visa invitation issued by TTB (Tibet Tourism Bureau). The applicant from third country must be in Nepal with a valid Nepalese visa when applying.
  • Original passport with a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of departure.
  • Recent passport-sized photo (353*472) with white background. The passport-sized photo cannot be a cropped version taken from the passport itself and should be taken separately.
  • Passport copy and Nepal visa copy (2 copies each).
  • Confirmed hotel booking and day-day travel itinerary.
  • Confirmed flight ticket (In case of flying to Tibet).

Additional Documents Required:

  • Complete itinerary and hotel bookings
  • License number of the Tibet agent.
  • Attached form (2 pages) information of clients duly filled.
  • Privacy form duly signed by clients. 

Please Note: 

1. To issue the Tibet Group Visa, a minimum of 4 travelers is required. In case of fewer passengers, additional individuals must be added, and their passports should be submitted during processing. Visa fees will apply accordingly.

2. If you already have a Chinese Visa stamped on your passport, it will be invalidated when the Group Visa is issued by the Chinese Embassy in Kathmandu.

3. The Chinese Group Visa for Tibet cannot be extended. 

For more information contact us at .